top of page

Nursing and Midwifery Board of Ireland (NMBI)

Brief History of NMBI 

"An Bord Altranais" (the Board) was formed in 1950 in order to undertake the responsibilities of two bodies: the Central Midwives Board and the General Nursing Council, which were established in 1918 and 1919, respectively. The Board was reformed by redefining and expanding its functions by the Nurses Act 1985.


The name of the Board changed to Nursing and Midwifery Board of Ireland (NMBI) as a result of the Commencement Order S.I. No. 385 in 2012. This name change indicates the acknowledgement of midwifery as a profession separate and distinct from nursing.

envertiz image

The Functions of NMBI

The primary purpose of the Nursing and Midwifery Board of Ireland is to safeguard patients and other members of the public. The organisation is committed to achieving this purpose by assisting registered midwives and nurses in providing the highest quality patient care.

NMBI's essential functions include:

  • Conserving the Register of Nurses and Midwives

  • Applications assessment of Irish and overseas applicants who wish to practise as registered nurses or midwives in Ireland

  • Providing necessary support to nurses and midwives to provide care through standard development and guidance that they can use in their day-to-day practice

  • Establishing standards for nursing and midwifery education programmes in higher education

  • Investigation of complaints raised by patients or their families or health care professionals or employers, and holding Fitness to Practise Inquiries

Application Categories

There are three classifications for applicants based on Personal Status Criteria and Qualification Criteria, and it is essential to understand which section an applicant comes under before starting the process.


Why is it crucial to identify your category before starting the application?

  • It decides the required documents you must submit.

  • The category specifies the level of application evaluation and the timescales for application processing once all required documents have been provided.

Application Process with NMBI

In order to practise nursing or midwifery in Ireland, a candidate must go through two significant steps of the process.


Step 1: Recognition Process

Recognition of Qualification: This phase entails comparing your credentials to the educational criteria and norms of Ireland.

1. Create an account on MyNMBI

2. Reply to questions so that NMBI can categorise your application


3. You will be given the list of necessary documents


4. Collect the requisite certified documents (along with any required translations), upload them to MyNMBI, and pay the applicable cost


5. The NMBI will evaluate your application and notify you through email of the outcome

Possible Outcomes:

  • qualifications recognised

  • submit missing document(s)

  • a compensation measure is required

  • qualifications refused for recognition

The last two outcomes are provisional and can be appealed


Step 2: Registration Process


1. Sign in to MyNMBI


2. Reply to questions so that NMBI can categorise your application


3. Provide proof of English language proficiency


4. You will be given the list of necessary documents


5. Collect the requisite certified documents (along with any required translations), upload them to MyNMBI, and pay the applicable cost


6. The NMBI will evaluate your application and notify you through email of the outcome.

Possible Outcomes:

  • you are now registered

  • resubmit missing document(s)

  • registration with conditions attached

  • registration refused.

The last two outcomes are provisional and can be appealed.

Document Preparation 

The NMBI asks applicants to submit certified copies of particular documents. A certified copy is a photocopy that has been certified as a true copy of the original by an authorised authority recognised by NMBI.

Certified copies are required for the following documents:

  • Document of Identification: The passport is the fundamental identity document. 

  • Evidence of Name Change: If the applicant's name is different in the required documents, a certified copy of proof of name change, such as a marriage certificate, birth certificate, or deed poll, must be submitted. 

  • Qualification parchment

  • Qualification transcript (G2, G3)

  • Certified translation of the document(s)


In order to acquire a certified copy of a document(s), the applicant must bring the original(s) to one of the certifying agencies designated by NMBI. The certifying authority must confirm they have seen the original document by providing their full name and profession, and stamp, sign and date the photocopy of the document.

Certifying Authorities Recognised by NMBI 

  • Solicitor or Lawyer

  • Notary Public

  • Peace Commissioner

  • Justice of the Peace

  • Commissioner for Oaths

  • Post Office, United Kingdom only

  • An Garda Síochána in Ireland

Translation of Documents

All certificates must be in English. If any of the required documents is any language other than English must be translated into English. 

The translation must be:

  • Conducted by a certified translator

  • Signed and stamped by the translator

  • Dated by the translator

In English, the translator must certify that the translation is an accurate translation of the source document.

Please note that NMBI's ability to process your application will be slowed if you do not submit certified copies as per the instructions.

Compensation Measures


A compensation measure is a timeframe of adaptation or an aptitude exam that must be passed before the NMBI can acknowledge your qualifications.

If you are applying to the General Nursing section and NMBI notified you that you must complete a compensation measure, you have a choice between the following choices:

  • Period of adaptation

  • Aptitude test 

If you are applying to a section besides General Nursing, you will be required to complete an adaptation period. The choice for aptitude test is not available for Midwives, Children’s Nurses, Psychiatric Nurses, Intellectual Disability Nurses, Public Health Nurses, Nurse Tutors, Midwife Tutors, Nurse Prescribers, Midwife Prescribers, Advanced Nurse Practitioners or Advanced Midwife Practitioners divisions. 


You will be provided with a link to MyNMBI to notify your decision.

Aptitude Test: The Faculty of Nursing and Midwifery of the Royal College of Surgeons in Ireland (RCSI) organises and administers an aptitude exam for applicants trained outside the Republic of Ireland. The examination consists of two parts:

  • Part 1: Theory or knowledge test or MCQ, which must be successfully completed before Part 2 can be attempted.

  • Part 2: Practical or OSCE test


Period of Adaptation: A period of adaptation is a term of supervised practise under the supervision or responsibility of a trained member of the profession, which may be supplemented by additional training. This time of supervised clinical practise will be evaluated. Six weeks is the minimum time required to complete an adaptation phase, and may be prolonged to 12 weeks or beyond if necessary.


Telegram logo
bottom of page