top of page

Ireland HSE


On January 1, 2005, the Health Service Executive (HSE) was founded by the Health Act 2004 as the publicly funded healthcare system in the Republic of Ireland, responsible for providing health and personal social services. The establishment employs over 120,000 people.

HSE supplanted the ten regional Health Boards, the Eastern Regional Health Authority, and several other institutions and organisations. The Minister of Health retained authority for the Executive branch of government.

Office of the Nursing and Midwifery Services Director (ONMSD)

A The mission of the Office of the Nursing and Midwifery Services Director (ONMSD) is to strategically lead and assist nurses and midwives in providing safe, high-quality, patient-centred care. In addition, the programme aims to improve the quality of life and well-being of health service consumers.

A wide range of opportunities is available for nurses and midwives in the hospitals under HSE Ireland. And the Executive offers enticing 
salary packages and additional benefits for those who are part of the organisation. 

The Office of the Nursing and Midwifery Services Director (ONMSD) is led by a director and backed by the following teams:
Nursing and Midwifery Planning and Development (NMPD)

There are four HSE areas under NMPD, led by different directors, which are NMPD Dublin North-East, NMPD Dublin Mid-Leinster, NMPD HSE South, and NMPD HSE West. NMPD supports the ONMSD to accomplish tasks such as:

  • strategic growth of the nursing and midwifery professions

  • supporting services that enable nurses and midwives to provide patient-centred care

  • supporting career growth

  • improving nurse and midwifery practices, and more

Nursing and Midwifery National Clinical and Integrated Care Programmes/ Clinical Design and Innovation

The overall purposes of the National Clinical Programmes (NCPs) and Integrated Care Programmes (ICPs) are to enhance the quality, accessibility, and cost-effectiveness of public health services for its beneficiaries. An area director leads the division.
National Deteriorating Patient Recognition and Response Improvement Programme

The National Deteriorating Patient Improvement Programme (DPIP) is the HSE's most significant patient safety initiative. The division led by the area director ensures that the DPIP team is functioning to enhance and coordinate the various Early Warning Systems (EWS) through:

  • the formulation and revision of clinical guidelines by designated working groups

  • service enhancement collaborating with hospital teams to improve guideline implementation

  • providing educational programmes to every EWS

Nursing and Midwifery Planning and Development Units (NMPDUs)

There are eight divisions under the NMPDU, led by eight different directors. The divisions are: 

  • NMPDU South-West Cork and Kerry

  • NMPDU South-East

  • NMPDU North-West

  • NMPDU West/Midwest

  • NMPDU Dublin South, Kildare and Wicklow

  • NMPDU Midlands

  • NMPDU Dublin North

  • NMPDU North-East

Centres for Nursing and Midwifery Education (CNMEs) 

The primary purposes of the CNMEs are to: 

  • Support education so that national clinical programmes can be rolled out and implemented.

  • Offer continuous professional development (CPD) to nurses and midwives.

  • Ensure that the CPD activities offered to nurses and midwives by CNMEs are aligned with service requirements and national clinical plans under the various Boards of Management.

  • Document, track, and assess the provision of CPD for nurses and midwives, and more

There are 12 HSE Centres for Nursing and Midwifery Education (CNMEs) led by 12 directors and eight voluntary CNMEs. 

National Leads for specific programmes and portfolios of nursing and midwifery

The ONMSD is overseen by a director and backed by a leadership team comprised of seven national leads for specialised areas, including:

  • medicinal product prescribing

  • referral for medical ionising radiation procedures

  • National Clinical Leadership Centre

  • midwifery

  • public health nursing

  • nursing and midwifery informatics

  • quality improvement

National Clinical Leadership Centre (NCLC) 

The National Clinical Leadership Centre (NCLC) for Nursing and Midwifery facilitates clinical leadership advancement for all levels of nurses and midwives across the nation. NCLC's mission is to encourage innovative leadership through:

  • Clinical Leadership Competency Framework

  • Clinical Leadership Programmes

  • Clinical Leadership Workshops

  • Clinical Leadership Development Initiatives

Be a Registered Nurse or Midwife in Ireland

The applicant must register with the Nursing and Midwifery Board (NMBI), an independent regulatory body, in order to work as a registered nurse or midwife in Ireland. The norms and standards developed by NMBI represent its basic values of compassion, care, and commitment.
bottom of page