top of page

All about the Right Code of International Recruitment

At this crucial hour of the pandemic, it is a fact that the world needs skilled and dedicated health personnel. At the same time, there have been standards of recruitment issued by the UK government to recruitment agencies.

The Sole Aim of the International Recruitment

With a mission to ensure that high standards of practice is promoted in the field of International recruitment and the employment of health and social care personnel, all recruitment agencies have to undertake the recruitment process in accordance with the principles . The international recruitment rules will ensure fairness of employment and transparency of the whole process in ease.

Alongside, it will ensure that workforce support and social care system sustainability is taken care of, under the guidance and cooperation of international recruitments.

Who cannot be recruited as per the latest ‘active international recruitment’?

According to this, people from low and lower middle income countries should not be recruited to the UK hospitals. With this update in consideration, we thought it was best that nurses stay updated on what is the right code of International Recruitment to the UK for International nurses. Certain countries have been placed into the red list of countries. As per this, recruitment agencies are not permitted to recruit from the below listed countries. Red countries from where active recruitment is not permitted

  1. Afghanistan

  2. Angola

  3. Bangladesh

  4. Benin

  5. Burkina Faso

  6. Burundi

  7. Cameroon

  8. Central African Republic

  9. Chad

  10. Congo

  11. Democratic Republic of the Congo

  12. Côte d’Ivoire

  13. Djibouti

  14. Equatorial Guinea

  15. Eritrea

  16. Ethiopia

  17. Gabon

  18. The Gambia

  19. Ghana

  20. Guinea

  21. Guinea-Bissau

  22. Haiti

  23. Kiribati

  24. Lesotho

  25. Liberia

  26. Madagascar

  27. Malawi

  28. Mali

  29. Mauritania

  30. Federated States of Micronesia

  31. Mozambique

  32. Nepal

  33. Niger

  34. Nigeria

  35. Pakistan

  36. Papua New Guinea

  37. Senegal

  38. Sierra Leone

  39. Solomon Islands

  40. Somalia

  41. South Sudan

  42. Sudan

  43. Tanzania

  44. Togo

  45. Uganda

  46. Vanuatu

  47. Yemen

Presently, this Health Workforce Support and Safeguard list includes 47 countries and over time this could increase or decrease. They have listed the countries based on the fact that they have UHC service coverage index. This means that these countries have an index below 50 and also their healthcare population (which includes midwives, nurses of various departments and also doctors of various specialties) is much below the global medical care population.

Will recruitment take place from these countries? In a situation, when there is an agreement undertaken, then recruitment from any of the above listed countries could happen. In case there is a government-to-government agreement with a country placed in the red list, then that country could be moved into the amber list and recruitment could happen. But , as of now, no countries have been moved from red to amber.

The list is said to be updated every three years based on the reports of health and progress formulated as per the WHO Global Code implementation to the World Health Assembly.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
bottom of page